Church of St John the Baptist, Newcestown

Laying the foundation stone of the Church of St. John the Baptist, Newcestown Sunday June 23rd, 1872

Extracts from a report published in the Cork Examiner, June 25th, 1872

“At two o’clock, the procession was formed at the sacristy, headed by a large number of young girls robed in white and blue, and bearing banners, one representing the Immaculate Conception, and the other, the Blessed Sacrament and followed by a number of young ladies who sang the litany in the most charming manner Another choir, formed of the Very Rev. Precentor Falvey, Fr Lyons O.S.A. and Fr. Casey followed and chanted the hymns prescribed by the ritual…….

“… The procession moved slowly round the foundation of the church, the choir intering the litany and stopped at the point where the corner-stone was ready for being placed. After the usual prayers had been said, and the coins and relics deposited in their proper place, the stone was lowered into position. The trowel with which the ceremony was performed was supplied by Mr. Egan, jeweler, Grand Parade, Cork, and bore the following inscription; “Presented by the Rev. J Cummins to the Very Rev. Canon O’Brien PP VF, on the laying of the corner stones of the Church of Saint John the Baptist at Newcestown, Sunday, June 23rd 1872.”…
…A subscription list was then opened and a large number of subscriptions were handed in. The Rev. J. Cummins subsequently entertained a large number of visitors in a most respectable manner..”